Coolio -Artis Leon Ivey Jr. August 1, 1963 – September 28, 2022

Coolio -Artis Leon Ivey Jr. (August 1, 1963 – September 28, 2022), known professionally as Coolio, was an American rapper, record producer, and actor. Coolio achieved mainstream success in the mid-to-late 1990s with his albums It Takes a Thief (1994), Gangsta’s Paradise (1995), and My Soul (1997). He was best known for his 1995 Grammy Award-winning hit single “Gangsta’s Paradise”, as well as other singles “Fantastic Voyage” (1994), “1, 2, 3, 4 (Sumpin’ New)” (1996), and “C U When U Get There” (1997).

He was also known for having provided the opening track “Aw, Here It Goes!” for the 1996 Nickelodeon television series Kenan & Kel. Since 1996, Coolio released albums independently and also became a chef and therein created a web series titled Cookin’ with Coolio and released a cookbook. Ivey originally rose to fame as a member of the Gangsta rap group WC and the Maad Circle alongside WC and his brother, Crazy Toones.

Luke Bell August 2022

Luke Bell August 2022 was an American country musician and singer-songwriter from Cody, Wyoming, United States. Bell “… plays classic honky-tonk with a wink and a yodel that summons the sleeping ghosts of country better than any voodoo spell ever could.
While in Tucson, Arizona for a concert, Bell disappeared on August 20, 2022. He was found dead nine days later at the age of 32. Bell had recently changed medication for treatment of his Bipolar disorder which was believed to have factored into his disappearance.

Olivia Newton-John 26 September 1948 – 8 August 2022

Olivia Newton-John 26 September 1948 – 8 August 2022 was a British-born Australian singer, actress and activist. She was a four-time Grammy Award winner whose music career included five number-one hits and another ten top-ten hits on the Billboard Hot 100, and two number-one albums on the Billboard 200; If You Love Me, Let Me Know (1974) and Have You Never Been Mellow (1975). Eleven of her singles (including two Platinum) and 14 of her albums (including two Platinum and four 2× Platinum) have been certified Gold by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA). With global sales of more than 100 million records, Newton-John is one of the best-selling music artists from the second half of the 20th century to the present

Posted in POP

Gord Lewis 1956/1957 – August 2022

Gord Lewis (1956/1957 – August 2022)
Teenage Head is a Canadian punk rock group from Hamilton, Ontario,that was popular in Canada during the early 1980s.The band’s name is a reference to The Flaming Groovies’ 1971 album Teenage Head, which Gord Lewis had seen advertised in a music magazine and decided that he, one day, would form a band with that name. Teenage Head was formed in 1975
1980’s gold-selling Frantic City was the band’s breakthrough album, making them stars across Canada with the hit singles “Let’s Shake” and “Somethin’ On My Mind

Judith Durham Judith Mavis Cock; 3 July 1943 – 5 August 2022

Judith Durham Judith Mavis Cock; 3 July 1943 – 5 August 2022 was an Australian singer, songwriter and musician who became the lead singer of the Australian popular folk music group the Seekers in 1963.The group became the first Australian pop music group to achieve major chart and sales success in the United Kingdom and the United States and have sold over 50 million records worldwide. Durham left the group in mid 1968 to pursue her solo career. In 1993, Durham began to make sporadic recordings and performances with the Seekers.

Manuel Charlton 25 July 1941 – 5 July 2022

Manuel Charlton 25 July 1941 – 5 July 2022 was a founding member of the Scottish hard rock band Nazareth and was their lead guitarist from 1968 to 1990. Nazareth had several hits in the United Kingdom, They established an international audience with their 1975 album Hair of the Dog, which featured their hits “Hair of the Dog” and a cover of the ballad “Love Hurts”.

Alexander “Alec” John Such November 14, 1951 June 5, 2022

Alexander “Alec” John Such November 14, 1951 June 5, 2022
He is the former bass guitarist for the rock band Bon Jovi, playing in the band from 1983 until his dismissal in 1994.
After leaving Bon Jovi, Such has managed a couple of local New Jersey bands, and also owns a motorcycle shop in New York City. Such joined Bon Jovi at Giants Stadium at the end of their One Wild Night Tour in July 2001. Afterwards he retired from the music industry.

Ronald Cornett Hawkins, January 10, 1935 – May 29, 2022

Ronald Cornett Hawkins, January 10, 1935 – May 29, 2022 was an American-Canadian rock and roll singer-songwriter whose career spanned more than half a century. It began in Arkansas, where he was born and raised. He found success in Ontario, Canada, and lived there for most of his life. He is considered highly influential in the establishment and evolution of rock music in Canada.
Also known as “Rompin’ Ronnie”, “Mr. Dynamo” or “The Hawk”, he was one of the key players in the 1960s rock scene in Toronto. He performed all across North America and recorded more than 25 albums. His hit songs include covers of Chuck Berry’s “Thirty Days” (retitled “Forty Days”) and Young Jessie’s “Mary Lou”, a song about a gold digger. Other well-known recordings are a cover of Bo Diddley’s “Who Do You Love?” , “Hey! Bo Diddley”, and “Susie Q”, which was written by his cousin, rockabilly artist Dale Hawkins.

Vangelis- Evángelos Odysséas Papathanassíou 29 March 1943 – 17 May 2022

Evángelos Odysséas Papathanassíou 29 March 1943 – 17 May 2022), known professionally as Vangelis was a Greek musician and composer of electronic, progressive, ambient, jazz, and orchestral music. He was best known for his Academy Award-winning score to Chariots of Fire (1981), as well as for composing scores to the films Blade Runner (1982), Missing (1982), Antarctica (1983), The Bounty (1984), 1492: Conquest of Paradise (1992), and Alexander (2004), and for the use of his music in the 1980 PBS documentary series Cosmos: A Personal Voyage by Carl Sagan.